Adamson drub LPU in three sets for second straight win in SSL Pre-season

The Adamson University Lady Falcons trounced the Lyceum of the Philippines Lady Pirates in a sweep, 25-16, 25-16, 25-13, to remain undefeated in the Shakey’s Super League Pre-season Championship at the FilOil EcoOil Centre earlier today.

Adamson newcomer Barbie Jamili was hailed as the MVP of the Match with seven points, all from attacks. Along with Jamili, team captain Lucille Almonte and rookie Red Bascon also score seven points apiece, while Lorene Toring and Sharya Ancheta tallied six and five markers respectively.

“Nagustuhan ko is yung how they followed our (coaches’) instructions, kung paano nila sa laro, sa service target, sa pasa, and then execution ng play namin,” said Coach JP Yude.

The Lady Falcons were dominant right from the get go, establishing 13-point lead and never looking back to take the first set.

In the second frame, LPU traded shots with Adamson early before the latter pulled away midway through the set en route to a commanding two sets to none advantage.

Smelling blood from their prey, the Lady Falcons continued to pound the Lady Pirates in the third canto and never took their feet off the gas pedal to grab their second win.

SSL’s All-To-Play rule benefited Adamson’s spikers with returning setter Angge Alcantara maximizing all her spikers fielded on the floor.

Ayesha Juegos and Jen Villegas posted four points each, while Ishie Lalongisip and Antonette Adolfo chalked up three markers apiece.

On the other hand, Hiromi Osada topped the scoring with six points. Joan Doguna had five attack points, while Johna Dolorito added four for Lyceum who dropped to 0-2 in the elimination round.

After back-to-back wins, the Lady Falcons now sport a 2-0 win-loss record to top Pool B.

Adamson eye a sweep of Pool B when they face San Beda University Red Lionesses on October 1, Sunday, 2pm at the Rizal Memorial Coliseum.


AdU – Almonte 7, Bascon 7, Jamili 7, Toring 6, Ancheta 5, Juegos 4, Villegas 4, Adolfo 3, Lalongisip 3, Cuenca 2, Alcantara 1, Nuique 1.

LPU – Osada 6, Daya 5, Dolorito 4, De Guzman 4, Bio 3, Lopez S. 3, Daya 1, Puzon 1.